When you don’t celebrate Father’s Day ..

Vacation

Sometimes I think all these Days are just well, massive business propaganda. When you really love / respect / value someone, you don’t need a reminder or a special day to say it.

Now that’s its just A and me, it was bitter sweet seeing FB filled with posts from friends saying what an awesome dad their husband is. I stayed off FB for the most part.

Yesterday the Ex (Yep. we separated 10 months ago) called – which has been quite rare. was out playing, so I asked him to call an hour later. He never did.

When I told A it’s Father’s Day, he had a huge grin, hugged me, and half said, “Happy Father’s Day Mumma”.  But he stoically refused to let me call his dad, or talk to him.

I dont know if that is good or bad.

But I can sure say we’ve moved on. Especially after the last month in and out of hospitals and loaded with medicines. Both the kid and I have adjusted to being a single parent family. Him, more than me. He’s the one who’s kept me grounded and I often wonder who’s the smarter one. Hard to say he’s just 6.5 yrs.

We spent the day playing with friends; watching the rain and waterfalls on the hills, fussing about the garden. And then he spent an hour on Skype showing my brother the garden, his crystals, his swords and gun and just about everything else. All in all a good wholesome day, the perfect weekend…

Other than we didn’t ‘celebrate’ father’s day. It was just like every other weekend.

By some stroke of luck, this quote from Seth Godin showed up on my FB feed between all the Father’s Day mush.

“Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you should set up a life you don’t need to escape.” – Seth Godin

And it brought a huge grin. DONE. That’s one thing off my list. That’s what I’ve achieved in the last year. Creating a life we don’t need a vacation from. Here’s the view from my living room, taken last week when a huge double rainbow graced us. If you look close, you can see the small waterfalls that appear every so often during the rains. I no longer crave “getting away”. I no longer need a break from my life. That is reason enough for us to celebrate. Everyday.

ps: We both wished my Dad.

2 thoughts on “When you don’t celebrate Father’s Day ..

Leave a Reply

